House in The Pines 1911


On East Main Street across from the town hall can be seen this stately building nestled in the pines. This was the main house of a boarding school for girls called House in the Pines. It was founded in 1911 by Miss Gertrude Cornish. The student body comprised about 160 girls who came from many states and some foreign countries. The school closed in 1972. The town hall building was the school's gymnasium.
 
 
 
 
 
 
  



Drop us an email.